Fish Fingers with Tartare Sauce

I first happened to taste them as a teenager at some holiday homes. I had been there with my cousin’s family. They had this same kind of fish fingers served with a white mayo sauce. Even after exploring so many places in US I could not find that or even similar tasting fish fingers.

I was like still in search of that perfect fish finger with white sauce combo. While I was talking to my husband about this, I realized that he had never tasted something like that. That’s the moment, I decided that I should find the recipe soon.

I explored many and following the given recipe I could achieve much similar version that I had tasted in my teenage.


Recipe :

Ingredients :

  • 150-200 gms any white fish fillet. I used Tilapia
  • 1 tsp mustard sauce
  • 1 tsp black pepper powder 
  • 1 tsp lemon juice 
  • 4 garlic cloves, finely chopped 
  • 1 egg
  • Salt to taste 
  • 1 tbsp all purpose flour 
  • Breadcrumbs for coating
  • Oil for deep frying

For the sauce :

  • 2 tbsp mayonnaise 
  • 4 thin spring onions, finely chopped
  • Salt to taste
  • 1 tbsp coriander leaves, finely chopped 
  • 1-2 tsp lemon juice 
  • Pinch of black pepper powder 

Method :

  1. Cut the fish fillet into thin finger length strips.
  2. Marinate the fish pieces with salt, lemon juice and pepper powder for 15 mins.
  3. In bowl, mix mustard sauce, garlic, salt, egg and all purpose flour. To this add the marinated fish pieces and combine them well so that they are well coated.
  4. Allow them to stand for another 15 minutes.
  5. Heat oil in a pan for deep frying.
  6. Dip the fish fingers in breadcrumbs and coat them well.
  7. Deep fry them in oil till golden brown on low-medium flame.
  8. Remove on an absorbent paper.
  9. For the tartare sauce, combine mayo, onions, coriander leaves, salt, lemon juice and pepper powder. Mix well.
  10. Garnish the fish fingers with chopped coriander leaves and serve with tartare sauce.

Leave a Reply

