Coorg special Chicken masala / Spicy Chicken delicacy from Coorg

Nowadays I have stopped eating much of fish and moved my appetite inclination towards chicken. Every week coincidentally almost every Thursday, I tend to prepare some chicken delicacy. However I try that every week it should be something new so that by repeating similar dishes we should not end up getting bored with eating the same.

Many years back when I was just out of college and waiting for my MNC joining, I had a long vacation in between. During this time I got an opportunity to visit a small town named Coorg, equidistant from the cities Mangalore and Bangalore in the state of Karnataka, India. We had booked a cottage stay there and one of the meals during the stay was offered by the cottage owner. Their cook had prepared all Coorg delicacies. One of them which I could recollect I guess was the Pandi curry or Pork curry served with rice balls. I actually could just recollect the color of the delicacy which had created the temptation, but I also remember it was some non veg item that I didn’t eat then and so didn’t relish the dish.

After so many years, I remembered it and started my research during which I came to know about Pandi curry. Nowadays though I have started eating lamb/goat meat, I still not eat other red meat. So I decided to try out similar dish but with chicken. So let’s hop on to the recipe.


Recipe :

Ingredients:

  • 500 gms chicken, cleaned, washed and cut into small pieces. I marinate the pieces with salt and turmeric powder
  • 3 tbsp ghee ( you can also use oil)
  • 1 large onion, sliced
  • 5-6 green chillies, chopped
  • 1/2 cup + 2 tbsp coriander leaves, finely chopped
  • 2-3 small pieces of cinnamon
  • 3-4 cardamom
  • 1-2 star anise
  • 5-6 cloves
  • 1/2 tsp black peppercorns
  • 1 tsp mustard seeds
  • 3 tsp cumin seeds
  • 1 tbsp coriander powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp ginger garlic paste
  • 10-15 curry leaves
  • Salt as per taste
  • 1/ cup water
  • 2-3 tsp tamarind juice

Method:

  1. In a pan, heat a tbsp of ghee.
  2. Add the whole spices – cloves, cinnamon, cardamom, star anise, peppercorns, mustard seeds and cumin seeds. Sauté for a min or two on high flame.
  3. Then add the green chillies and onion. Sauté for another few minutes.
  4. Add coriander powder, coriander leaves (1/2 cup) and mix well.
  5. Allow the mixture to cool.
  6. Grind the mixture to a fine paste by adding 1/2 cup water.
  7. In a pressure cooker, heat the remaining ghee.
  8. To this add the curry leaves and ginger garlic paste and sauté till the rawness of the paste is lost.
  9. Then add the chicken pieces, mix and fry for few minutes.
  10. Add the ground masala, salt as per taste and pressure cook for 1-2 whistles.
  11. Once the pressure is completely released, check the taste and consistency of gravy.
  12. Add salt and water if required.
  13. Add tamarind juice and bring to a boil. Garnish with coriander leaves.
  14. Serve hot with roti/chapati or rice.

Leave a Reply

