Chicken Ghee Roast/ Roasted Chicken using clarified butter 

Had been noticing quite many posts on mutton ghee roast or chicken ghee roast for a while on the food groups. I had never tasted this dish before. But it always tempted me. Recently was blessed with an opportunity to taste it at one of my friend’s place at the Diwali party she had hosted. It was divine.

This was now a dish on my list to be tried out at home. I referred my recipes and also took reference from my friend. The below shared on is was I experimented in my kitchen. Tried, tested and relished.


Recipe :

Ingredients :

  • 300-500 gms chicken, cleaned washed and cut into medium-sized pieces.( Apply salt and turmeric powder and allow to rest for at least 30 mins)
  • puree of 2 medium-sized tomatoes
  • 9 tsp ghee
  • juice of half lemon
  • 1 tsp cumin powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp ginger garlic paste
  • 1 tsp coriander powder
  • 2 tsp Kashmiri red chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp chicken masala or regular garam masala
  • 1/2 tsp pepper powder
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 2 finely chopped coriander leaves

Method :

  1. In a pan, heat 7 tsp ghee.
  2. To this add the cumin powder and ginger garlic paste and fry for 1-2 mins.
  3. Now add the tomato puree, mix and fry further.
  4. Then add the coriander powder, Kashmiri red chilli powder, mix well and allow to cook till ghee separates from the masala.
  5. Add another 2 tsp of ghee and chicken pieces.
  6. Mix well and add the chicken masala powder, pepper powder and mix again. Saute for 2 mins.
  7. Close the lid and allow the chicken to cook for 10 minutes on medium flame. I usually like to pressure cook my chicken and so I make the dish in a pressure cooker instead of pan. And at this point I pressure cook for around 2-3 whistles by adding a tbsp or two of two.
  8. Once cooked, add lemon juice and sugar. Mix and allow the dish to get slightly dry.
  9. Garnish with chopped coriander leaves.
  10. Serve hot with roti/chapati/bread.

Leave a Reply

