Ribbon Cake

Cakes have always been one of my favorite desserts or snack and being passionate about baking I always like to experiment with a variety of baked goodies.

As a child I always waited for the Christmas season to arrive or looked forward towards an invite at a Christian family’s home for a birthday party,etc. I know it sounds insane. But kids are kids, innocent at heart.

As a child I always had this fascination towards the ribbon cake. At that time, the exact type or name of the cake was so immaterial to me. Rather I would always describe the cake to my parents or the shopkeeper to get what I desired. I would just say a “cake whose slice has pink or green or both color bands on it.”As a college girl too, I remember I used to buy the ribbon cake, quarter kg from the Apollo bakery in Ponda.

A few days back Ms.Xanti Pinto posted ribbon cake pictures on a food group (Base Recipe by Xanti). I was so damn delighted to see those. It was also my mum’s birthday that day. So I thought I should be seeking the recipe from her as soon as possible and baking one at once so that though seven seas away from mum can celebrate her birthday as well re-live my childhood. However I could not get the recipe in time.

But as Children’s Day (14 November is celebrated as Children’s day in India – my home country) was round the corner, what better day than this one to re-live my childhood. So taking Xanti’s recipe as base and making a few modifications to it, here we go ahead to bake the Ribbon cake.

img-20161113-wa0003

Recipe :

Ingredients :

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 stick unsalted butter, at room temperature, cut into cubes
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar (you can adjust the sugar based on the sweetness you prefer)
  • 2 large eggs, at room temperature
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 9 inch loaf pan
  • gel or tube colors (pink, green and orange)

Note : Incase you are using salted butter, please omit using the salt

Method :

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 320 F.
  2. Grease a 9 inch loaf pan and line it with parchment paper.
  3. In a bowl, sift the all-purpose flour, salt and baking powder.
  4. In a mixing bowl, beat the butter and sugar  till light and fluffy using a hand mixer.
  5. Add one egg at a time and beat the batter further.
  6. Add the vanilla extract and mix well.
  7. Now fold in the flour mixture into the wet ingredients until well incorporated and a smooth lump-free batter is achieved.
  8. Take 3 bowls and spoon a tbsp of the batter in each of these bowls and retain the rest.
  9. In each bowl mix each of the gel colors. so now you have vanilla batter, a little of orange, pink and green batter
  10. Spread a smooth layer of vanilla batter at the base of the loaf pan.
  11. On top of this, pour one of the colored batter. Smooth this out like a color band, however you need not spread it as a layer.(It also wont be sufficient to spread as a layer).
  12. Repeat till rest of the colored and vanilla batters are consumed, alternating each. Remember that you have to spread only the vanilla batter as a layer.
  13. Finally smooth out the surface and tap the pan against the counter top to get rid of any air bubbles.
  14. Bake the loaf for 45-60mins or till a toothpick inserted in the center of the cake comes out clean.
  15. Remove the cake on a cooling rack and allow to cool down for 10 mins.
  16. Cut the cake into slices. Happy Children’s Day. Enjoy!

20161113_001048-COLLAGE.jpg

3 thoughts on “Ribbon Cake

Leave a Reply

