Mutton Biryani in Andhra style

Though being a non-vegetarian,I like to have fish and chicken. I never liked to have mutton(goat) since childhood. I always thought and found it to be like chewing gum. My husband is a foodie and likes to explore different types of food items. He loves to have mutton. He always tried to convince me to start eating mutton. To satisfy his wish, I did try 2-3 times way back in India, but I did not like it them.

After coming to US, my options in non-veg has pretty much reduced due to the variation in taste and lack of freshness. My husband again started convincing me about mutton and this time he succeeded. I did start eating it and liking it too. But I have only explored to the extent of mutton biryani and mutton curry. Every where in this post, by mutton I intend to mean goat meat.

My husband has a couple of bachelor friends here who hail from Andhra Pradesh, India. I have heard that they are awesome cooks though have never been lucky to taste their food. This recipe has been shared by one of this bachelor friends with my hubby and I happened to try Mutton(Goat) biryani at home. It turned out to be so delicious, we really relished it.

img_20160918_134928

Recipe :

Ingredients :

  • 500-750gms mutton medium-sized pieces, washed and cleaned (shoulder pieces)
  • 2-3 tsp tenderizer*
  • salt as per taste
  • 1/2 tsp turmeric powder
  • 1/2 cup curd
  • 1 tsp red chilli powder
  • 1 tsp coriander powder
  • 1 tsp cumin powder
  • 1 tbsp biryani masala
  • 6 cloves
  • 2 cinnamon sticks
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 3 green cardamom
  • 2 black cardamom
  • 1 tsp ginger garlic paste
  • 1 cup basmati rice
  • 1 tsp ghee
  • 2 tbsp oil
  • around 1/2 cup fried onion for garnish

*Note: Take 1/4 piece of raw papaya. Remove the seeds and chop it to 1/2 inch pieces and then puree it in mixie. Your tenderizer is ready.

Method :

  1. Mix all the ingredients except basmati rice, ghee, oil and fried onions.
  2. Refrigerate it and allow to stand for at least 4-5 hours. I prefer to keep it overnight though.img_20160917_202611
  3. In a pressure cooker, heat oil. To it add the marinated mutton pieces.img_20160918_101435
  4. Add water enough just so that the pieces are dipped. Pressure cook for 6-10 whistles.
  5. In the meanwhile, soak the rice in water for at least one hour. Then wash the rice and drain all the water.img_20160918_111142
  6. Once pressure is released, drain the mutton pieces from the curry and keep both in separate bowls. Allow to whole masala to be retained in the curry.img_20160918_111103
  7. In the pressure cooker, heat ghee. Add the rice and fry for a minute.
  8. To this add the curry and then water enough for the rice to cook along with the curry. For one cup rice, I had 1 3/4 curry existing so I added around 1/4-1/2 cup water.
  9. Before pressure cooking, check the salt and add if required.
  10. Pressure cook the rice for 2-3 whistles.
  11. In a serving dish, spread all the mutton pieces. On top of it spread half the fried onion.
  12. Above it, spread all the rice. Then garnish with the remaining onion.

 

20160918_143242-collage

Leave a Reply

