Millet flour (Ragi) cookies

My body structure has always been petite and I am also a weakling health wise. I had been facing joint issues few years back. I was advised by my elderly relatives to consume  finger millet flour by means of the traditional millet flour pudding made in our homes. Being fussy about food since childhood, I don’t like this pudding. However, me too am aware that ragi has many health benefits.

Few years back I had tasted ragi biscuits at my cousin’s place which she had store-bought while even one of my colleague in office had got them made to order. I just looked those cookies but failed to seek the recipe. Cookies was the only form through which I preferred consuming ragi.

After few researches and seeking advise from some of my expert friends, here I am sharing the cookie recipe that I tried. I expect this recipe to work for most moms who want to feed ragi to their kids. Enjoy!!

IMG_20160608_105315.jpg

 

Recipe :

Ingredients :

  • 1/2 cup finger millet or ragi flour
  • 1/2 cup wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup butter (at room temperature)
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • few drops of vanilla essence
  • milk as required

Method :

  1. Dry roast the millet flour and keep aside to cool.
  2. Sift the wheat flour, roasted millet flour and baking flour in a bowl.
  3. Chop the butter and add into it the sifted flour.
  4. Mix well till you get crumb like mixture.
  5. Add the vanilla essence.
  6. Sift the sugar into the above mixture.
  7. Mix well and knead into a dough using as much milk as required for binding.
  8. Refrigerate the dough for 20 mins by wrapping in a cling wrap.
  9. Pre-heat oven at 350 F.
  10. Roll the dough into thin sheet by dusting the surface with wheat flour.
  11. Using cookie cutters, cut out biscuits of desired shapes and put them in baking tray lined with parchment paper.
  12. Bake the biscuits for 10-15 mins in a preheated oven.

Note : Some mum’s don’t prefer using baking powder or soda. So here in this recipe you can avoid using baking powder completely. I was asked this question on one of the groups by a mother for her 7-12 months old kid. So to answer her query I was guided by one of my friend cum guide 🙂 that here the amount of butter is more than enough for leavening and so baking powder can be avoided.

IMG_20160608_105315-COLLAGE.jpg

Leave a Reply

