Schezwan Sauce

After I decided to prepare spring rolls for my guests, suddenly it striked me that I need a sauce too for my chinese appetizer. Schezwan sauce was the perfect choice. But this lead to a train of questions in my mind. “Should I buy it? Will it be utilized later? Can I make it at home? What all ingredients will it require? Will they be readily available at home?”

So I started my research of going through various recipes for the same. It could be easily done with ingredients readily available at home and could also be used in future chinese recipes. So I finalized that I will make it at home.

IMG-20160716-WA0028

Recipe:

Ingredients :

  • 1/4 cup garlic, finely chopped
  • 1 inch ginger, finely chopped
  • Around 20 Kashmiri red chillies
  • 1/4 tsp soya sauce
  • salt to taste
  • 1/2 tsp pepper powder
  • 1/2 tsp sugar
  • 2 tsp red chilli sauce
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tsp vinegerIMG_20160715_100454-COLLAGE

Method :

  1. De-seed the red chillies and soak them in warm water for around 30-60mins.IMG_20160715_092405
  2. Drain the water and grind the chillies in a mixie into a fine paste.IMG_20160715_104925
  3. Heat oil in a non-stick wok. To it add garlic and ginger. Saute them well till garlic turns a little brown and looses its rawness.IMG_20160715_105444
  4. Then add the chilli paste and saute well till the oil separates and rawness of the chillies is lost.IMG_20160715_105824
  5. Add salt, pepper powder, soya sauce and red chilli sauce. Check the taste.
  6. Add some water, sugar and vinegar and cook till you get sauce consistency.
  7. Schezwan sauce is ready.
One thought on “Schezwan Sauce

  1. Pingback: Vegetable Spring Rolls | Crazee Cravings

Leave a Reply

