Kalakand

We were invited for a kid’s birthday party at one of my friend’s place. As a courtesy gesture we usually have the habit of taking a gift or some sweet when we are invited to someone’s house. If I am in good shape I usually prefer to take some home-made sweet dish or cupcakes or cookies. I had store-bought sweetened milk and paneer bar in fridge. Suddenly it striked me that another of my friend (the one who shares the same name as me and currently also happens to be in US) had casually shared a quick sweet dish recipe with me. I immediately started digging the recipe on my watsapp history and found the recipe of Kalakand. She said it tasted too good and I found out that she was not at all wrong in saying that. I received a lot many compliments for this sweet dish.

IMG_20160707_151139.jpg

Recipe :

Ingredients :

  • 400 -500 g of grated paneer
  • 2 tbsp of heaped milk powder or milk whitener
  • 1 tin (400 g) condensed or sweetened milk
  • 1/4 – 1/2 tsp cardamom powder (elaichi powder)
  • slivers of pistachios and almonds for garnish

IMG_20160707_101613-COLLAGE

Method :

  1. In a thick bottom pan, take grated paneer. To it add milk powder and sweetened milk and mix well.
  2. Put on the gas and cook the mixture on medium flame, stirring continuously till the mixture thickens and starts leaving the sides of the pan. In between add the cardamom powder.
  3. Pour the mixture in a grease dish and flatten it. Garnish with slivers of almonds and pistachios. Let the kalakand cool. Once cooled make pieces and serve.

IMG-20160617-WA0019-COLLAGE-COLLAGE

 

Leave a Reply

